Last Feb. 28, 2009  around 10 in the morning, I received a text message from an unidentified number in my cellphone.  The message came from a certain +639161755394.

I have quoted the message in toto below:

CONGRATS!! U’r Sim#.Had Won P/680.00.00.  From: PGMA charity foundation 4 more info.  Call me nOw! I’m Sec. Antonio S. Veloso 02/28/09 Per DTI 5180 Series/of09

Very clever idea huh!  I replied:

Crap! You’re sick!

In the first place, I don’t think telecommunications network won’t give out numbers of their clients to any raffle or bidding whatsoever.  It’s against anybody’s privacy as well as their Privacy Policy.

Secondly, is DTI aware of this scam?  May DTI number e.  If you’re someone na gahaman sa pera you’d think that this one is for real because of the DTI series number similar to any legal raffle draws.

Thirdly, I’m really hoping that if there is really such thing as PGMA charity foundation, they should be aware of this scam.  Someone who claims to be an attorney – pagulpol siguro nga attorney – is using the name of the foundation for some illegal interests.

Advice to the public:

You can either respond immediately with something similar to what I did or you can immediately call and get the information of the caller instead of him getting your info or you can just simply ignore the message and report the number you got to authorities.

I just wonder if there is any way for telecommunication companies to track owners of this number.  Isn’t it that if you purchase a sim card, sellers would get your name and sometimes your sim number for their records and receipt.  Yes it will take time, but for the safety of everybody, that will surely be worth anybody’s money and time to track.