It was Sunday evening, Aug. 2, 2009, when at long last PECO fulfilled their promise aired through local radio networks that they will do their best to bring back the electricity in our place in Lapaz. When I switched on the TV for my daily dose of local and national news, I was shocked when I knew that Pres. Cory Aquino died last Saturday, Aug. 1, 2009 at around 3 in the morning.

cory

All of a sudden, I asked myself, where was I during that time? What was I doing that time? And all I could remember was – I was at work. I was certain about this because I knew I logged off at around 7 in the morning of Aug. 2, 2009.

I felt sad…Why should I? Since when did I feel overly nationalistic over my country and whatever it is that relates to it? Not this time…Not now…Only for President Cory…because I hailed her as my personal hope on this Earth and my only hope next to God…followed by this miraculous life that God gave me.

I don’t want to sound funny or crazy, but I thought, “No wonder, the weather was this bad…because everything…not just everybody…mourns for a great loss.”

I can still recall what happened during the day I missed the news…I woke up at around noon of August 2, 2009. No electricity in Gustilo, Lapaz. The strong winds was like a furious enemy trying to enter the walls and windows of my apartment. I didn’t feel terrified…Not at all…Not me…But I feel weak…Ah siguro kasi I missed breakfast and lunch…But no! It was due to hunger…It was like my whole body was melting, trembling, mixed feelings that were indescribable during that time. I completely ignored it and decided to go back to sleep thinking that I was just flat tired working all day and all night.

Late afternoon came, I woke up through the darkness of my room. Sigh…Wala talagang kuryente. Aba naintindihan ko na ha? I used to go to where my phone is and dial the Complaints number of PECO as soon we have no power here. But that time, I felt calm…relaxed…In my mind were:
1. For sure busy na naman lahat ng number ng PECO
2. For sure di makakapagtrabaho ang PECO sa sama ba naman ng panahon
3. May bago pa ba? D ka pa nasanay sa at least 3-5hours na brownout dito sa Lapaz?

A section of my brain says, “Why is it that all of a sudden, I became passive?” As in? But I was so hungry to entertain all thoughts of being nationalistic or all sorts of work-related stuff. At that very moment, I’ve decided to wallow into my lethargic feeling and enjoy the feeling of being “lazy” even for once.

After a lazy stroll in the mall and a quick dinner, I went back to the apartment thinking that the power is back and I may now get back to my usual chillaxing online life. But to my dismay, there was still no power. OK, alright, who cares…ZZZZZZZZZzzzzz…then I fell asleep around 9-10pm until almost noon the next day, Sunday.

Grrrrr! No power! No water! What a terrible day! I was just stopping myself from being too emotional…ang BP…huwag sabayan ang panahon🙂 Luckily, hubby requested the apartment staff to fetch water for us just so I can take a bath and brush my teeth before heading off to the mall for another unplanned malling.

To cut the story short, here I am, sitting in front of my laptop, feeling a little lost and confused about the very fast changes in events. It was like, in two short days, a lot has happened…without me noticing them. But the very shocking portion was, for the first time, I felt lazy and uninspired. The explanation: I have unintentionally felt the death of our beloved, Pres. Corazon Aquino.

No, I’m not into politics. But I’ve always been a great admirer of the beliefs, principles, and ideas of the late Sen. Ninoy Aquino and Pres. Cory Aquino. Their humility and sense of dedication made me feel that every day, as I wake up, in this chaotic life of ours, there is still hope…that God never leaves us.

I’m not into Showbiz, but I’ve always enjoyed listening to Kris every time she talks and shares whatever it is that she read from somewhere. Through her, I realized the importance of being true or honest as well as the courage to face life’s challenges.

When I knew Cory’s death, I knew right there and then why all of a sudden I felt passive and lazy…It was as if, momentarily, I felt that the very thin string of hope holding my trust to the laws and the government officials of our country snapped off…😦 I know very well that this is a very wrong feeling. Nothing will happen to someone who will lose trust to anything and to anybody around him/her. And so, with the best that I could, I struggled myself and all my senses to come back to reality and be firm, as usual…as always.

To: Panay Electric Company (PECO)
When will you ever learn to strategically and wisely allocate any insufficient power or energy reserve or supply that the whole province of Iloilo have?

Did it ever occur to you that an eight-power electric shortage concentrated in one place only can be a boomerang to the kind of service you have?

What is the purpose of your contact numbers especially your complaints number as well as your personnel when you can not even send a single advisory just to inform us what’s going on?

Have you ever wondered why some people just resort to stealing power/electricity instead of religiously or obediently follow the required procedures to acquire their needed electrical needs? That’s simply because you’re all worthy of our emulation!

To: the Malacanang People
What you do to others comes back to you ten times fold.

Money is the root of all evil. But no matter how rich you are, you can never bring down the sons and daughters of God.

I feel really sad and uninspired after knowing the death of Pres. Cory. Personally, I felt like there’s no more hope. But I know she won’t like it if the others would feel the same feeling that I felt. So I must move on. Live life the way it used to be…But this time, my prayers will become louder, stronger, so that God can hear my cries and maybe even for one time, He will bring down His hand and give justice to whoever needs it…let the evil ones perish!

Goodbye for now, Pres. Cory…we will miss you…